Share Us:

Stevenage Seasons 2000-1

Manager(s):
Paul Fairclough

Key:
Conf = Nationwide Conference
FAC = FA Cup
FAT = FA Trophy
NVCT = Conference Cup

The start of the 2000-1 campaign marked the return of Paul Fairclough as Stevenage Borough boss, with the hope Cloughie could once again weave his Conference-winning magic. The division had moved on in the intervening years, with former League clubs now dropping down. And that meant the challenge had been made just that little bit more difficult for Boro' to overcome.

There were no shortage of draws as Boro' cantered into seventh place in the pre-playoff Conference - 18 in fact, with only champions Rushden losing fewer games all season. Meanwhile, Boro's FA Cup run ended at the first hurdle and FA Trophy hopes ended on penalties - both somewhat surprisingly at home to lower league opposition in the form of Nuneaton and Canvey Island.

Most appearances: Paul Armstrong - 47

Top goalscorer: Neil Illman - 17

2000-1 Stevenage Borough results

Filter results by competition:
  

 

Saturday 19 August
 
HConfScarborough1-1
  

 

Wednesday 23 August
 
AConfForest Green Rovers3-2
  

 

Saturday 26 August
 
AConfHednesford Town1-1
  

 

Monday 28 August
 
HConfDagenham & Redbridge0-2
  

 

Saturday 02 September
 
HConfLeigh RMI3-0
  

 

Tuesday 05 September
 
AConfRushden & Diamonds2-2
  

 

Saturday 09 September
 
AConfNorthwich Victoria2-3
  

 

Monday 11 September
 
HConfDover Athletic1-1
  

 

Saturday 16 September
 
HConfYeovil Town0-0
  

 

Tuesday 19 September
 
ANVCT1Dagenham & Redbridge2-1
  

 

Saturday 23 September
 
AConfHereford United1-1
  

 

Tuesday 26 September
 
AConfWoking1-1
  

 

Saturday 30 September
 
HConfTelford United5-3
  

 

Saturday 14 October
 
HConfBoston United3-2
  

 

Saturday 21 October
 
AConfNuneaton Borough3-0
  

 

Tuesday 24 October
 
ANVCT2Rushden & Diamonds1-2
  

 

Saturday 28 October
 
AFAC4QNuneaton Borough1-1
  

 

Tuesday 31 October
 
HFAC4QNuneaton Borough1-2
  

 

Saturday 04 November
 
HConfKettering Town2-0
  

 

Saturday 11 November
 
AConfChester City1-1
  

 

Saturday 18 November
 
AConfScarborough2-2
  

 

Saturday 25 November
 
HConfKingstonian2-5
  

 

Saturday 02 December
 
AConfDoncaster Rovers0-0
  

 

Saturday 16 December
 
HConfForest Green Rovers3-1
  

 

Friday 22 December
 
AConfSouthport2-2
  

 

Tuesday 26 December
 
AConfHayes1-0
  

 

Monday 01 January
 
HConfHayes3-3
  

 

Saturday 06 January
 
AConfBoston United3-3
  

 

Saturday 13 January
 
AFAT3Aldershot Town5-1
  

 

Saturday 27 January
 
HConfRushden & Diamonds0-2
  

 

Saturday 03 February
 
HFAT4Margate2-1
  

 

Saturday 10 February
 
HConfNorthwich Victoria3-1
  

 

Saturday 17 February
 
AConfKingstonian2-0
  

 

Saturday 24 February
 
AFAT5Canvey Island1-1
  

 

Monday 26 February
 
HFAT5Canvey Island0-0
  

 

Saturday 03 March
 
AConfYeovil Town1-1
  

 

Monday 12 March
 
HConfHereford United2-1
  

 

Tuesday 20 March
 
AConfDagenham & Redbridge0-3
  

 

Monday 26 March
 
HConfWoking0-3
  

 

Saturday 31 March
 
AConfMorecambe2-1
  

 

Monday 02 April
 
HConfHednesford Town4-1
  

 

Saturday 07 April
 
HConfNuneaton Borough1-1
  

 

Tuesday 10 April
 
AConfLeigh RMI4-1
  

 

Monday 16 April
 
HConfChester City1-2
  

 

Wednesday 18 April
 
AConfTelford United2-2
  

 

Saturday 21 April
 
AConfKettering Town2-1
  

 

Monday 23 April
 
HConfMorecambe1-1
  

 

Saturday 28 April
 
HConfDoncaster Rovers0-0
  

 

Monday 30 April
 
HConfSouthport1-3
  

 

Saturday 05 May
 
AConfDover Athletic0-1

Sort players by:

Apps Gls YC RC US
Paull Abbott2 (5)00011
Paul Armstrong27 (20)9200
James Ayres3 (0)0001
Lee Boylan1 (0)0000
Darren Bradshaw9 (0)0204
Mark Bridge0 (3)0002
Jason Brissett2 (1)0002
Drewe Broughton4 (0)3100
Corey Browne1 (1)0000
Nathan Bunce28 (1)1701
Adrian Clarke39 (4)10112
Leon Cort9 (1)0301
Ryan Crossley1 (0)0001
Eddie Duah1 (0)0001
Mark Duckett0 (2)0002
Wayne Dyer4 (2)0102
Mark Gibson1 (0)0000
Mark Graham9 (1)1102
John Hamsher21 (0)1600
Ross Harrison0 (0)0002
James Hasell0 (0)0001
Darran Hay30 (3)16402
Danny Hockton0 (1)0103
Neil Illman29 (11)17407
John Keister0 (0)0001
Ryan Kirby21 (4)1305
Richard Leadbeater7 (3)3104
Dean Martin34 (2)4101
Sam McMahon33 (0)2510
Christian Metcalfe8 (3)02112
Rob Miller27 (9)01012
John Morgan12 (6)2314
Kofi Nyamah6 (4)0002
Chris Pearson1 (4)2001
Gary Phillips0 (0)0003
David Phillips23 (2)3202
Wesley Randall0 (1)0000
Stevie Searle6 (0)0000
Mark Smith40 (0)0501
Sam Sodje8 (0)0111
Akpo Sodje0 (1)1000
Chris Taylor18 (0)01028
Robin Trott35 (1)3310
Steve Walters7 (0)2210
Paul Wilkerson32 (1)00017
Ben Worrall1 (0)0001
Gary Wraight10 (0)1209

Key:

  • Apps = Number of first team appearances (substitute appearances in brackets)
  • Gls = Number of first team goals scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

2000-1 Nationwide Conference table

P W D L F A GD Pts
Rushden & Diamonds
2Yeovil Town422481183735080
3Dagenham & Redbridge422381171541777
4Southport422091358461269
5Leigh RMI421911126357668
6Telford United42198155151065
7Stevenage Borough421518971611063
8Chester City421614124943662
9Doncaster Rovers421513144743458
10Scarborough421416125654258
11Hereford United4214151360461457
12Boston United4213171274631156
13Nuneaton Borough421315146060054
14Woking421315145257-554
15Dover Athletic421411175456-253
16Forest Green Rovers421115164354-1148
17Northwich Victoria421113184967-1846
18Hayes421210204471-2746
19Morecambe421112196466-245
20Kettering Town421110214662-1643
21Kingstonian42810244773-2634
22Hednesford Town42513244686-4028

Adverts