Share Us:

Stevenage Seasons 2001-2

Manager(s):
Paul Fairclough, Wayne Turner

Key:
Conf = Nationwide Conference
FAC = FA Cup
FAT = FA Trophy
LDV = LDV Trophy

2002 was the year in which the curtain fell on Paul Fairclough's reign as Stevenage Borough gaffer for the second and last time. Apart from an early FA Cup exit at the hands of Kettering Town in October, there hadn't been a huge amount going wrong - after all, Boro's first league meeting with Barnet ended in a three-goal win for Boro' and that counts for a lot.

But not much had been going right, either. Boro' were bang average and stuck in the mid-table. The journey towards the FA Trophy final had begun in style, but Phil Wallace decided it required a new driver after seeing off Forest Green in the fifth round. Wayne Turner took Boro' the rest of the way, but the final would end in defeat - in part because of ex-forward Carl Alford.

Most appearances: Sam McMahon - 47

Top goalscorer: Jean-Michel Sigere - 12

2001-2 Stevenage Borough results

Filter results by competition:
  

 

Saturday 18 August
 
HConfStalybridge Celtic2-0
  

 

Tuesday 21 August
 
AConfHayes2-0
  

 

Saturday 25 August
 
AConfNorthwich Victoria1-2
  

 

Monday 27 August
 
HConfDoncaster Rovers0-0
  

 

Saturday 01 September
 
AConfSouthport0-0
  

 

Monday 03 September
 
HConfNuneaton Borough2-2
  

 

Saturday 08 September
 
AConfLeigh RMI2-1
  

 

Monday 10 September
 
HConfScarborough2-0
  

 

Saturday 15 September
 
HConfFarnborough1-2
  

 

Tuesday 18 September
 
AConfMargate1-2
  

 

Saturday 22 September
 
AConfHereford United1-1
  

 

Saturday 29 September
 
HConfChester City2-1
  

 

Tuesday 02 October
 
AConfDagenham & Redbridge0-1
  

 

Friday 05 October
 
AConfWoking1-1
  

 

Monday 08 October
 
HConfTelford United1-1
  

 

Saturday 13 October
 
AConfForest Green Rovers0-0
  

 

Monday 15 October
 
HLDV1Southend United1-4
  

 

Saturday 20 October
 
HConfMorecambe3-1
  

 

Saturday 27 October
 
HFAC4QKettering Town0-0
  

 

Tuesday 30 October
 
AFAC4QKettering Town1-2
  

 

Saturday 03 November
 
AConfDover Athletic1-0
  

 

Saturday 10 November
 
HConfBoston United1-2
  

 

Saturday 17 November
 
AConfTelford United1-2
  

 

Saturday 24 November
 
AConfYeovil Town1-2
  

 

Saturday 01 December
 
AConfStalybridge Celtic0-2
  

 

Saturday 15 December
 
HConfHayes1-1
  

 

Wednesday 26 December
 
AConfBarnet3-0
  

 

Saturday 05 January
 
AConfNuneaton Borough1-2
  

 

Saturday 12 January
 
HFAT3Dover Athletic5-1
  

 

Saturday 19 January
 
HConfSouthport2-1
  

 

Friday 25 January
 
AConfDoncaster Rovers0-2
  

 

Saturday 02 February
 
HFAT4Bashley1-0
  

 

Saturday 09 February
 
HConfWoking1-4
  

 

Saturday 16 February
 
HConfForest Green Rovers4-1
  

 

Saturday 23 February
 
HFAT5Forest Green Rovers3-2
  

 

Saturday 02 March
 
HConfMargate3-1
  

 

Saturday 09 March
 
AConfScarborough1-1
  

 

Monday 11 March
 
HConfDagenham & Redbridge1-3
  

 

Saturday 16 March
 
HFATQFStalybridge Celtic1-0
  

 

Saturday 23 March
 
AConfFarnborough1-6
  

 

Monday 25 March
 
HConfBarnet3-2
  

 

Saturday 30 March
 
AConfMorecambe3-0
  

 

Monday 01 April
 
HConfDover Athletic1-3
  

 

Saturday 06 April
 
AFATSFMorecambe2-1
  

 

Tuesday 09 April
 
AConfBoston United0-0
  

 

Saturday 13 April
 
HFATSFMorecambe
Aggregate:
2-0
4-1
  

 

Monday 15 April
 
HConfLeigh RMI0-1
  

 

Thursday 18 April
 
HConfYeovil Town2-3
  

 

Saturday 20 April
 
AConfChester City1-5
  

 

Monday 22 April
 
HConfNorthwich Victoria1-0
  

 

Saturday 27 April
 
HConfHereford United3-1
  

 

Sunday 12 May
 
NFATFYeovil Town0-2

Sort players by:

Apps Gls YC RC US
Ben Abbey0 (3)0000
Paul Armstrong4 (12)1006
Andy Arnott7 (0)0100
Mark Bridge0 (0)0001
Jamie Campbell8 (3)0104
DJ Campbell19 (9)5107
Shaun Carey4 (0)0000
Steve Castle8 (2)0001
Adrian Clarke33 (5)9204
Anthony Dean0 (1)0000
John Dreyer29 (0)0903
Sean Evers9 (2)0100
Matt Fisher17 (5)2503
Lee Fitzpatrick1 (1)0000
Stuart Fraser8 (0)0301
Liam George5 (1)0000
Jason Goodliffe42 (0)3700
Dean Greygoose23 (0)00028
John Hamsher36 (1)4514
Darran Hay12 (11)6506
Scott Houghton7 (3)0201
Richard Howell2 (0)0000
Neil Illman7 (11)0004
Kirk Jackson17 (6)10100
Greg Lincoln1 (0)0000
Colin Luckett1 (0)0000
Sam McMahon44 (3)6811
Jack Midson1 (3)0001
John Morgan2 (4)0004
Gary Phillips0 (0)0001
Louis Riddle7 (0)0200
Neville Roach0 (0)0001
Lee Robinson0 (0)0004
Andre Scarlett0 (1)0000
Tony Shields2 (1)1001
Jean-Michel Sigere25 (3)12110
Dean Smith0 (1)0100
Leon Smith0 (4)0008
Sam Sodje20 (4)2319
Jude Stirling10 (5)1101
Paul Sturgess27 (1)0604
Baroan Tagro0 (1)0000
Chris Tate6 (0)2100
Robin Trott27 (4)0109
Steve Walters10 (0)0211
Alvin Watts2 (0)0100
Paul Wilkerson29 (0)01018
Martin Williams30 (9)3101
Simon Wormull30 (3)5200

Key:

  • Apps = Number of first team appearances (substitute appearances in brackets)
  • Gls = Number of first team goals scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

2001-2 Nationwide Conference table

P W D L F A GD Pts
Boston United
2Dagenham & Redbridge422412670472384
3Yeovil Town4219131066531370
4Doncaster Rovers4218131168462267
5Barnet4219101364481667
6Morecambe421711146367-462
7Farnborough421871766541261
8Margate421416125953658
9Telford United421415136358557
10Nuneaton Borough42169175757057
11Stevenage Borough421510175760-355
12Scarborough421414145563-855*
13Northwich Victoria42167195770-1355
14Chester City42159185451354
15Southport421314155349453
16Leigh RMI42158195658-253
17Hereford United421410185053-352
18Forest Green Rovers421215155476-2251
19Woking42139205970-1148
20Hayes42135245380-2744
21Stalybridge Celtic421110214069-2943
22Dover Athletic42116254165-2439

* Scarborough deducted one point

Adverts