Share Us:

Stevenage Seasons 2002-3

Manager(s):
Wayne Turner, John Dreyer (CT), Graham Westley

Key:
Conf = Nationwide Conference
FAC = FA Cup
FAT = FA Trophy
LDV = LDV Trophy

A 5-1 win at Woking sounds like bliss to a Stevenage Borough supporter, but it was to be the club's last league victory for three months. Injuries didn't help Wayne Turner's cause, but the run of form that saw Boro' hit rock bottom on Boxing Day was always going to make it hard for Turner to stay in charge. Out he went and in came Graham Westley, with Boro' needing points fast.

Under Westley's leadership, Boro' did pull themselves clear during the second half of the campaign - but it needed a run of six straight wins in March and April to make sure. Other highlights from the 2002-3 season include an entertaining 4-3 defeat to Luton Town in the LDV Trophy before Turner's departure, a fixture that had been earned thanks to a 2-1 win over Division Three Swansea.

Most appearances: Simon Travis - 47

Top goalscorer: Kirk Jackson - 8

2002-3 Stevenage Borough results

Filter results by competition:
  

 

Saturday 17 August
 
HConfNorthwich Victoria2-2
  

 

Tuesday 20 August
 
AConfFarnborough1-0
  

 

Saturday 24 August
 
AConfNuneaton Borough0-3
  

 

Monday 26 August
 
HConfEbbsfleet United1-0
  

 

Saturday 31 August
 
AConfMorecambe1-3
  

 

Monday 02 September
 
HConfTelford United1-3
  

 

Saturday 07 September
 
AConfMargate1-1
  

 

Saturday 14 September
 
HConfYeovil Town2-2
  

 

Tuesday 17 September
 
AConfForest Green Rovers3-0
  

 

Saturday 21 September
 
HConfHereford United0-2
  

 

Monday 23 September
 
HConfBarnet1-2
  

 

Saturday 28 September
 
AConfWoking5-1
  

 

Saturday 05 October
 
HConfHalifax Town0-1
  

 

Tuesday 08 October
 
AConfDoncaster Rovers0-0
  

 

Saturday 12 October
 
AConfLeigh RMI1-2
  

 

Saturday 19 October
 
HConfBurton Albion0-1
  

 

Tuesday 22 October
 
HLDV1Swansea City2-1
  

 

Saturday 26 October
 
AFAC4QGrays Athletic2-1
  

 

Saturday 02 November
 
AConfSouthport2-3
  

 

Saturday 09 November
 
HConfChester City0-1
  

 

Tuesday 12 November
 
HLDV2Luton Town3-4
  

 

Saturday 16 November
 
HFAC1Hastings United1-0
  

 

Saturday 23 November
 
AConfHalifax Town0-1
  

 

Saturday 30 November
 
HConfScarborough1-1
  

 

Saturday 07 December
 
AFAC2Darlington1-4
  

 

Saturday 14 December
 
HConfMargate1-3
  

 

Saturday 21 December
 
AConfYeovil Town1-2
  

 

Thursday 26 December
 
AConfKettering Town0-1
  

 

Saturday 28 December
 
HConfFarnborough5-0
  

 

Saturday 04 January
 
AConfNorthwich Victoria1-1
  

 

Tuesday 14 January
 
HFAT3Oxford City2-1
  

 

Saturday 18 January
 
HConfNuneaton Borough3-1
  

 

Saturday 25 January
 
AConfEbbsfleet United1-2
  

 

Saturday 01 February
 
AFAT4Tamworth0-3
  

 

Saturday 08 February
 
HConfMorecambe1-1
  

 

Saturday 22 February
 
AConfHereford United2-2
  

 

Saturday 01 March
 
HConfForest Green Rovers0-0
  

 

Tuesday 04 March
 
AConfDagenham & Redbridge2-3
  

 

Saturday 08 March
 
AConfBarnet2-0
  

 

Saturday 15 March
 
HConfWoking1-1
  

 

Saturday 22 March
 
AConfScarborough2-1
  

 

Tuesday 25 March
 
HConfKettering Town2-0
  

 

Saturday 29 March
 
HConfDagenham & Redbridge2-0
  

 

Saturday 05 April
 
HConfLeigh RMI3-1
  

 

Monday 07 April
 
AConfTelford United3-1
  

 

Saturday 12 April
 
AConfBurton Albion2-1
  

 

Saturday 19 April
 
HConfDoncaster Rovers2-3
  

 

Monday 21 April
 
AConfChester City0-2
  

 

Saturday 26 April
 
HConfSouthport3-0

Sort players by:

Apps Gls YC RC US
Tony Battersby4 (2)3000
Leon Bell2 (2)0100
Graham Benstead0 (0)0001
Michael Blackwood22 (2)1200
George Boyd1 (0)0004
Nathan Bunce11 (0)1102
Jamie Campbell27 (3)2411
DJ Campbell0 (2)0000
Danny Carroll15 (0)5100
Adrian Clarke3 (1)0002
Jamie Cook7 (6)1100
John Dreyer2 (0)0004
Anthony Elding12 (2)7200
Scott Eustace0 (0)0001
Matt Fisher16 (1)0500
Jo Flack0 (1)0003
Stuart Fraser18 (5)15112
Adam Furness0 (1)0001
Jason Goodliffe33 (3)4700
Phil Gray0 (2)0001
Justin Gregory4 (0)0000
Gary Holloway6 (3)0100
Scott Houghton3 (3)1000
Richard Howell8 (4)2302
Kirk Jackson19 (3)8201
Barry Laker14 (0)1300
Dino Maamria8 (3)5200
Charlie MacDonald14 (6)3103
Gary MacDonald10 (3)0208
Sam McMahon22 (3)2610
Jack Midson2 (7)1003
Neil Mustoe0 (2)0000
Lloyd Opara0 (2)0002
Richard Pacquette9 (1)4120
Lionel Perez4 (1)01010
Justin Richards14 (7)6403
Louis Riddle10 (2)0211
Richard Scott7 (1)1100
Jean-Michel Sigere8 (10)3206
Neil Smith4 (4)0204
Jude Stirling12 (3)0001
Graeme Tomlinson2 (8)0003
Simon Travis44 (3)0000
Robin Trott25 (0)2003
Michael Warner10 (1)0301
Steve Watson15 (0)0600
Mark Westhead42 (0)0004
Martin Williams17 (0)2201
Roger Willis1 (0)0001
Phil Wilson3 (3)00029
Simon Wormull29 (8)4203

Key:

  • Apps = Number of first team appearances (substitute appearances in brackets)
  • Gls = Number of first team goals scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

2002-3 Nationwide Conference table

P W D L F A GD Pts
Yeovil Town
2Morecambe422391086424478
Doncaster Rovers
4Chester City422112959312875
5Dagenham & Redbridge422191271591272
6Hereford United422191264511364
7Scarborough421810146354964
8Halifax Town421810145051-164
9Forest Green Rovers42178176162-159
10Margate421511166066-656
11Barnet421314156568-353
12Stevenage Borough421410186155652
13Farnborough421312175756151
14Northwich Victoria421312176672-651
15Telford United42147215469-1349
16Burton Albion421310195277-2549
17Ebbsfleet United421212186273-1148
18Leigh RMI42146224471-2748
19Woking421114175281-2947
20Nuneaton Borough42137225178-2746
21Southport421112195469-1545
22Kettering Town4287273773-3631

Adverts