Share Us:

Stevenage Seasons 1983-4

Manager(s):
Derek Montgomery, Frank Cornwell

Key:
UCLP = United Counties League Premier Division
FAC = FA Cup
FAV = FA Vase
CFL = Courage Floodlit League
EAC = East Anglian Cup
HCS = Herts Charity Shield
HSC = Herts Senior Cup
UCLC = United Counties League Knockout Cup
WT = Woolwich Trophy

The 1983-4 season turned out to be the last time Stevenage Borough would compete in the United Counties League, but Boro' couldn't end it with their first Premier Division title. The club had to settle for sixth place come the end of the season, which saw Boro' record five successive away defeats between October and December. It could, of course, have been worse.

Paddy Butcher finished top of the pile as far as goalscoring was concerned, with Ricky Marshall and Trevor Metcalfe also breaking into double figures for the season. Elsewhere, Boro' were beaten finalists in the Herts Charity Shield in their only significant cup run of the season - the FA Cup and FA Vase both proving to be disappointments with relatively early exits.

Most appearances: Mick Adamson - 54

Top goalscorer: Paddy Butcher - 14

1983-4 Stevenage Borough results

Filter results by competition:
  

 

Saturday 13 August
 
HHCSQFWare3-1
  

 

Saturday 27 August
 
HUCLPDesborough Town2-1
  

 

Tuesday 30 August
 
AUCLPWootton Blue Cross0-2
  

 

Saturday 03 September
 
HFACPRMilton Keynes City2-0
  

 

Monday 05 September
 
HUCLPStamford0-0
  

 

Saturday 10 September
 
AUCLPEynesbury Rovers2-2
  

 

Saturday 17 September
 
HFAC1QMoor Green0-0
  

 

Tuesday 20 September
 
AFAC1QMoor Green0-1
  

 

Saturday 24 September
 
HUCLPS&L Corby2-1
  

 

Saturday 01 October
 
AHCSSFBaldock Town2-1
  

 

Monday 03 October
 
HUCLC1Higham Town5-1
  

 

Saturday 08 October
 
HFAVPRWaterlows4-1
  

 

Monday 10 October
 
HUCLPSt Neots Town1-1
  

 

Thursday 13 October
 
HEACHoddesdon Town1-2
  

 

Saturday 15 October
 
HUCLPBourne Town1-1
  

 

Tuesday 18 October
 
AWTArlesey Town1-3
  

 

Saturday 22 October
 
HUCLPIrthlingborough Diamonds1-0
  

 

Tuesday 25 October
 
ACFLSaffron Walden Town0-1
  

 

Saturday 29 October
 
AHSC1Welwyn Garden City1-3
  

 

Monday 31 October
 
HCFLRoyston Town1-1
  

 

Saturday 05 November
 
HFAV1Ruislip Manor2-1
  

 

Monday 07 November
 
HCFLSaffron Walden Town0-0
  

 

Saturday 12 November
 
AUCLC2Holbeach United0-3
  

 

Saturday 19 November
 
HUCLPArlesey Town0-0
  

 

Saturday 26 November
 
HUCLPWootton Blue Cross0-0
  

 

Monday 28 November
 
HCFLStansted1-4
  

 

Saturday 03 December
 
AFAV2Rothwell Town0-1
  

 

Tuesday 06 December
 
ACFLRoyston Town1-0
  

 

Saturday 10 December
 
HUCLPLong Buckby4-2
  

 

Saturday 17 December
 
AUCLPDesborough Town2-0
  

 

Monday 19 December
 
HUCLPBaldock Town2-1
  

 

Saturday 24 December
 
AUCLPIrthlingborough Diamonds0-2
  

 

Monday 26 December
 
HUCLPPotton United5-3
  

 

Saturday 31 December
 
AUCLPSt Neots Town4-2
  

 

Monday 02 January
 
HUCLPAmpthill Town1-0
  

 

Saturday 07 January
 
AUCLPAmpthill Town1-2
  

 

Saturday 14 January
 
AUCLPBuckingham Town0-1
  

 

Tuesday 17 January
 
HUCLPNewport Pagnell Town0-1
  

 

Saturday 28 January
 
HUCLPRaunds Town4-2
  

 

Saturday 04 February
 
AUCLPS&L Corby2-0
  

 

Saturday 11 February
 
AUCLPArlesey Town3-0
  

 

Tuesday 14 February
 
HWTHitchin Town1-2
  

 

Saturday 18 February
 
AUCLPRothwell Town1-1
  

 

Saturday 25 February
 
AUCLPNewport Pagnell Town0-2
  

 

Tuesday 28 February
 
ACFLStansted3-0
  

 

Saturday 03 March
 
AUCLPBourne Town0-4
  

 

Monday 05 March
 
HUCLPHolbeach United4-0
  

 

Saturday 10 March
 
AUCLPStamford0-3
  

 

Tuesday 13 March
 
HWTLetchworth Garden City0-3
  

 

Saturday 17 March
 
HUCLPRothwell Town2-1
  

 

Saturday 24 March
 
HHCSFHemel Hempstead Town0-1
  

 

Saturday 31 March
 
AUCLPLong Buckby0-2
  

 

Saturday 07 April
 
HUCLPEynesbury Rovers3-1
  

 

Tuesday 10 April
 
AUCLPBaldock Town2-3
  

 

Monday 16 April
 
HUCLPBuckingham Town2-1
  

 

Saturday 21 April
 
AUCLPRaunds Town0-0
  

 

Monday 23 April
 
AUCLPPotton United1-1
  

 

Tuesday 01 May
 
HWTBaldock Town1-3
  

 

Tuesday 08 May
 
AUCLPHolbeach United0-3

Sort players by:

Apps Gls YC RC US
Mick Adamson54 (0)0101
Peter Adnams30 (0)0001
Wes Atwell35 (0)5000
Martin Bradshaw6 (0)0000
Paddy Butcher34 (4)14000
Colin Cardines5 (1)2000
Frank Cornwell0 (1)0000
Graham Cox37 (1)5100
Jan Czarnecki8 (1)0000
Mitch Dee9 (0)0000
Tony Ewins15 (7)1002
Barry Farmer0 (1)0001
Ricky Flood15 (0)0000
Martin Gittings32 (0)9110
Steve Grys17 (0)2000
Andy Hughes29 (0)2001
Lee Jacobs2 (0)1000
Paul Johnson6 (0)1000
Joe Josiah4 (0)0000
Ronnie Lear11 (3)6001
Alan Loffler5 (2)1002
Ricky Marshall37 (0)13000
Brendan McElroy0 (4)0001
Trevor Metcalfe25 (4)12000
Jimmy O'Neill2 (0)0000
Terry O'Neill1 (0)0000
Graham Pearce3 (0)0000
Paul Peterson1 (0)0000
Doug Pirie19 (1)2000
Mark Powell24 (0)2000
Derrick Remington7 (0)0000
Tom Sims5 (0)0000
Gary Sones1 (0)0000
Frank Tyler1 (1)0000
Denny Tyler15 (0)0000
Mark Vooght4 (0)1000
Mick Westley1 (0)0000

Key:

  • Apps = Number of first team appearances (substitute appearances in brackets)
  • Gls = Number of first team goals scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

Note: Due to the match team data for this season being incomplete, the above rollcall will be subject to change as and when we get/receive new information.

1983-4 United Counties League Premier Division table

P W D L F A GD Pts
1Buckingham Town36266477245358
2Baldock Town36218775423350
3Stamford361811775423347
4Bourne Town36198966491746
5Potton United361316750391142
6Stevenage Borough36169115246641
7Irthlingborough Diamonds3615101159401940
8Long Buckby361313105548739
9Wootton Blue Cross361311125649737
10Ampthill Town361310135654236
11Arlesey Town361212124556-1136
12Newport Pagnell Town361111144050-1033
13Rothwell Town361110155258-632
14Raunds Town361010165668-1230
15Holbeach United36126184468-2430
16Eynesbury Rovers36109175174-2329
17S&L Corby3677223463-2921
18Desborough Town36510213262-3020
19St Neots Town36311222874-4617

Adverts