Share Us:

Stevenage Seasons 1990-1

Manager(s):
Paul Fairclough

Key:
V2N = Vauxhall Football League Division 2 North
FAC = FA Cup
FAV = FA Vase
HCC = Herts Charity Cup
HSC = Herts Senior Cup
KFL = Knights Floodlit League
SCC = Southern Combinations Cup
LOC = Loctite Trophy
ACD = A.C. Delco Cup

If there was a book of Stevenage Borough records out there, the 1990-1 campaign will feature in it quite a lot. Paul Fairclough's debut season in charge of the club returned the highest number of league points ever achieved by a Boro' team (107) and the most amount of league wins in a single season (34) - of course, this is all correct at the time we were writing this.

Need more records? Boro' scored 122 league goals as opponents were cast aside; Boro's 17 wins on the bounce between November and February is unrivalled in the club's history. It's a bit unfortunate, however, that cup progress was disappointing as Bishop's Stortford and Hemel Hempstead ended our FA Cup and FA Vase runs at an early stage respectively.

Most appearances: Noel Blackwell - 56

Top goalscorer: Jimmy Hughes - 32

1990-1 Stevenage Borough results

Filter results by competition:
  

 

Saturday 11 August
 
AHCCHitchin Town1-3
  

 

Saturday 18 August
 
AV2NBasildon United2-2
  

 

Monday 20 August
 
HV2NCollier Row2-1
  

 

Saturday 25 August
 
HV2NWitham Town2-0
  

 

Monday 27 August
 
HACDHornchurch2-1
  

 

Saturday 01 September
 
AFACPREast Thurrock United1-0
  

 

Tuesday 04 September
 
AV2NHertford Town0-0
  

 

Saturday 08 September
 
HV2NTring Town5-1
  

 

Tuesday 11 September
 
HACDGrays Athletic1-2
  

 

Saturday 15 September
 
HFAC1QBishop's Stortford2-3
  

 

Tuesday 18 September
 
AV2NWare0-2
  

 

Saturday 22 September
 
HV2NSaffron Walden Town3-1
  

 

Saturday 29 September
 
HV2NVauxhall Motors (Luton)4-0
  

 

Wednesday 03 October
 
AV2NEdgware Town4-1
  

 

Saturday 06 October
 
AFAVPRKingsbury Town1-0
  

 

Tuesday 09 October
 
AHSC1Hitchin Town2-1
  

 

Saturday 13 October
 
AV2NTilbury3-2
  

 

Monday 15 October
 
HV2NHemel Hempstead Town6-0
  

 

Saturday 20 October
 
AV2NKingsbury Town2-2
  

 

Monday 22 October
 
HKFLStansted3-0
  

 

Saturday 27 October
 
HV2NBarton Rovers3-0
  

 

Tuesday 30 October
 
AV2NRainham Town1-0
  

 

Saturday 03 November
 
AFAV1Hemel Hempstead Town0-1
  

 

Saturday 10 November
 
HV2NClapton7-1
  

 

Wednesday 14 November
 
AKFLSaffron Walden Town1-1
  

 

Saturday 17 November
 
AV2NHornchurch3-1
  

 

Saturday 24 November
 
HV2NBerkhamsted Town4-0
  

 

Saturday 01 December
 
AV2NBillericay Town1-0
  

 

Monday 03 December
 
HKFLSaffron Walden Town2-1
  

 

Saturday 08 December
 
HV2NThurrock3-0
  

 

Saturday 15 December
 
AV2NFinchley6-0
  

 

Saturday 22 December
 
HV2NRoyston Town2-1
  

 

Wednesday 26 December
 
HV2NHertford Town1-0
  

 

Saturday 29 December
 
AV2NTring Town3-0
  

 

Wednesday 02 January
 
ASCCRoyston Town4-0
  

 

Saturday 05 January
 
AV2NWitham Town3-0
  

 

Saturday 12 January
 
HV2NBasildon United3-1
  

 

Monday 14 January
 
HLOCSouthall4-2
  

 

Saturday 19 January
 
AV2NCollier Row3-0
  

 

Tuesday 22 January
 
AHSC2St Albans City2-1
  

 

Saturday 26 January
 
HV2NRainham Town3-2
  

 

Tuesday 29 January
 
AKFLStansted3-1
  

 

Saturday 02 February
 
AV2NSaffron Walden Town0-1
  

 

Tuesday 05 February
 
ALOCAbingdon Town0-1
  

 

Saturday 23 February
 
HV2NTilbury4-0
  

 

Tuesday 26 February
 
AHSCSFBarnet1-2
  

 

Saturday 02 March
 
HV2NEdgware Town3-2
  

 

Saturday 09 March
 
AV2NVauxhall Motors (Luton)2-2
  

 

Saturday 16 March
 
AV2NBarton Rovers2-0
  

 

Monday 18 March
 
HSCCArlesey Town1-2
  

 

Saturday 23 March
 
HV2NKingsbury Town2-1
  

 

Monday 25 March
 
AV2NThurrock3-1
  

 

Saturday 30 March
 
AV2NRoyston Town3-2
  

 

Saturday 06 April
 
HV2NFinchley7-0
  

 

Saturday 13 April
 
AV2NClapton5-0
  

 

Monday 15 April
 
HV2NWare2-0
  

 

Thursday 18 April
 
HKFLHalstead Town0-3
  

 

Saturday 20 April
 
HV2NHornchurch7-0
  

 

Tuesday 23 April
 
AV2NHemel Hempstead Town1-2
  

 

Saturday 27 April
 
AV2NBerkhamsted Town0-0
  

 

Saturday 04 May
 
HV2NBillericay Town2-0

Sort players by:

Apps Gls YC RC US
Keith Allan1 (0)0000
Steve Armsby0 (1)0000
Graham Aslett4 (0)0001
Noel Blackwell55 (1)5000
Dave Brown40 (10)10100
Terry Burns3 (0)1000
Lee Burns34 (11)7003
Colin Cardines28 (4)18001
Shaun Debnam44 (2)11000
Vinny Dixon2 (1)0001
Paul Fairclough0 (2)0000
Dave Fawcett6 (0)0001
Barry Ferdinand5 (2)1000
Joe Gibbs1 (2)0000
Shaun Hancock6 (2)0001
Duncan Hardy41 (2)12000
Liam Henderson1 (1)0000
Andy Hudson1 (1)0000
Jimmy Hughes49 (4)32000
Ivan Humphreys1 (0)0000
Martin Hunt0 (1)0000
Gary Knight2 (1)0000
Gary Laffar3 (0)1000
Manuel Luque0 (0)0001
Miguel Luque35 (3)4000
Steve Manning1 (0)0002
Shaun Marshall30 (19)21103
Tony Martin43 (0)0000
Richard Mays4 (1)0001
Rob McComb23 (3)13000
Colin McGill49 (3)3000
Steve Mumford0 (0)0001
Robbie O'Keefe1 (0)0000
Kenny Page1 (0)0000
Paul Palma1 (0)0000
Tony Skeggs2 (0)0000
Vic St Ange2 (2)0000
Keith Tonge4 (3)3002
Tony Ward34 (13)7005
Alex Welsh10 (0)0000
Lee Western51 (0)0000
Ian Whitehead53 (0)1000
Mark Willson0 (1)0000

Key:

  • Apps = Number of first team appearances (substitute appearances in brackets)
  • Gls = Number of first team goals scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

Note: Due to the match team data for this season being incomplete, the above rollcall will be subject to change as and when we get/receive new information.

1990-1 Vauxhall Football League Division Two North table

P W D L F A GD Pts
Stevenage Borough
Vauxhall Motors (Luton)
3Billericay Town422281270412974
4Ware422281278512774
5Berkhamsted Town421911126051968
6Witham Town4219101370591167
7Thurrock4217141468571165
8Rainham Town421971657461164
9Hemel Hempstead Town421614126256662
10Barton Rovers421710156158361
11Saffron Walden Town421613137277-561
12Collier Row421611156363059
13Kingsbury Town42178176472-859
14Edgware Town42177187365858
15Hertford Town421610166970-158
16Royston Town4214151378621657
17Tilbury42146227079-948
18Basildon United421110216190-2943
19Hornchurch42109235387-3439
20Clapton42910235493-3934^
21Finchley42672950112-6224
22Tring Town4219323099-6912

* Vauxhall Motors (Luton) promoted but left Diadora League before 1991/2 season
^ Clapton deducted three points

Adverts