Share Us:

Stevenage Seasons 1997-8

Manager(s):
Paul Fairclough

Key:
Conf = Football Conference
FAC = FA Cup
FAT = FA Trophy
SC = Spalding Cup

You could judge the 1997-8 campaign on league form alone and decide it was a pretty mediocre one for Stevenage Borough. The last time Boro' had lost more than they'd won in a league season was when the club was relegated from Isthmian League Division One in 1988; their 17 defeats in 1997-8 more than the previous two seasons combined too - just for added effect.

Of course, it wasn't all mediocre. Cloughie's Stevenage were the "giant" killers of Cambridge United and Swindon Town, before drawing twice with Premier League flops Newcastle United. And yes, we are well aware that Boro' went no further than that replay at St James Park, but until someone can provide a credible explanation of how Shearer's "first" crossed the line, well...

Most appearances: Gary Crawshaw - 52

Top goalscorer: Gary Crawshaw - 16

1997-8 Stevenage Borough results

Filter results by competition:
  

 

Saturday 16 August
 
AConfYeovil Town1-2
  

 

Monday 18 August
 
HConfKettering Town0-0
  

 

Saturday 23 August
 
HConfSouthport1-0
  

 

Monday 25 August
 
AConfDover Athletic1-1
  

 

Saturday 30 August
 
AConfHereford United2-0
  

 

Monday 01 September
 
HConfHayes1-5
  

 

Sunday 07 September
 
HConfMorecambe0-3
  

 

Saturday 13 September
 
AConfKidderminster Harriers3-1
  

 

Tuesday 16 September
 
AConfWelling United0-1
  

 

Saturday 20 September
 
HConfTelford United1-1
  

 

Saturday 27 September
 
AConfNorthwich Victoria1-1
  

 

Saturday 04 October
 
HConfGateshead6-1
  

 

Saturday 11 October
 
HConfWoking0-0
  

 

Saturday 18 October
 
AConfHalifax Town0-4
  

 

Saturday 25 October
 
HConfHednesford Town1-1
  

 

Saturday 01 November
 
AConfStalybridge Celtic1-1
  

 

Saturday 08 November
 
AConfLeek Town1-2
  

 

Saturday 15 November
 
AFAC1Carshalton Athletic0-0
  

 

Saturday 22 November
 
HConfFarnborough5-0
  

 

Monday 24 November
 
HFAC1Carshalton Athletic5-0
  

 

Saturday 29 November
 
AConfKettering Town0-2
  

 

Monday 01 December
 
HSC2Yeovil Town0-3
  

 

Saturday 06 December
 
AFAC2Cambridge United1-1
  

 

Saturday 13 December
 
AConfGateshead1-2
  

 

Monday 15 December
 
HFAC2Cambridge United2-1
  

 

Friday 19 December
 
HConfCheltenham Town1-2
  

 

Friday 26 December
 
AConfRushden & Diamonds0-2
  

 

Monday 29 December
 
AConfHednesford Town1-2
  

 

Thursday 01 January
 
HConfRushden & Diamonds2-1
  

 

Saturday 03 January
 
AFAC3Swindon Town2-1
  

 

Saturday 10 January
 
HFAT1Chesham United2-2
  

 

Tuesday 13 January
 
AFAT1Chesham United3-0
  

 

Saturday 17 January
 
HConfHalifax Town1-2
  

 

Monday 19 January
 
HConfHereford United2-0
  

 

Sunday 25 January
 
HFAC4Newcastle United1-1
  

 

Saturday 31 January
 
AFAT2Gateshead2-1
  

 

Wednesday 04 February
 
AFAC4Newcastle United1-2
  

 

Saturday 07 February
 
HConfYeovil Town2-1
  

 

Saturday 14 February
 
AConfCheltenham Town1-1
  

 

Saturday 21 February
 
HFAT3Gloucester City1-1
  

 

Tuesday 24 February
 
AFAT3Gloucester City2-1
  

 

Saturday 28 February
 
AConfHayes3-1
  

 

Saturday 07 March
 
HConfStalybridge Celtic1-1
  

 

Monday 09 March
 
HConfWelling United0-0
  

 

Saturday 14 March
 
HFATQFSlough Town0-1
  

 

Monday 16 March
 
HConfSlough Town4-2
  

 

Saturday 21 March
 
AConfFarnborough2-1
  

 

Tuesday 31 March
 
AConfWoking3-5
  

 

Saturday 04 April
 
HConfKidderminster Harriers3-1
  

 

Tuesday 07 April
 
AConfSlough Town1-3
  

 

Saturday 11 April
 
AConfSouthport0-1
  

 

Monday 13 April
 
HConfDover Athletic2-2
  

 

Saturday 18 April
 
AConfMorecambe2-0
  

 

Saturday 25 April
 
AConfTelford United0-3
  

 

Monday 27 April
 
HConfLeek Town1-1
  

 

Saturday 02 May
 
HConfNorthwich Victoria1-3

Sort players by:

Apps Gls YC RC US
Gavin Allen0 (1)0000
Aaron Archer0 (1)0000
Paul Barrowcliff5 (0)0000
Stuart Beevor33 (5)5204
Sean Campbell1 (0)0000
Neil Catlin8 (0)2000
Simon Chang0 (0)0005
Robert Codner4 (0)0000
Gary Crawshaw49 (3)16300
Scott Cretton0 (1)0006
Phil Dean2 (2)1000
James Dillnutt16 (3)1002
Gary Dixon2 (4)0003
Efan Elad1 (2)0000
Darren Fenton9 (6)0204
Des Gallagher45 (0)0010
Joe Gallen0 (4)0000
Giuliano Grazioli16 (1)8100
Lee Harvey8 (4)0001
Steve Holden12 (5)02111
Niall Inman4 (7)1003
Thomas Johansen4 (2)0003
Simon Kaldjob1 (1)0010
Warren Kelly6 (1)0000
Ryan Kirby40 (0)1010
Michael Love34 (1)3200
Jamie March38 (4)0102
Rob Marshall2 (1)0002
Chris McKenzie1 (0)0000
Jeran Meah6 (4)0101
Steve Perkins35 (3)6200
Andy Quy0 (0)0001
Darren Rogers3 (0)0000
Kwame Sampany0 (2)0002
Bradley Sandeman8 (1)0000
Robert Simpson1 (2)0000
Mark Smith44 (0)3200
Jason Soloman35 (5)5202
Che Stadhart0 (0)0001
Simon Stapleton6 (1)0001
Tim Stevens6 (3)3002
Paul Thompson7 (4)1001
Neil Trebble42 (5)10102
Robin Trott51 (0)4300
Carel Van Der Velden1 (0)0000
Darren White1 (0)0000
Richard Wilmot10 (0)0009
Dean Wordsworth19 (6)8100

Key:

  • Apps = Number of first team appearances (substitute appearances in brackets)
  • Gls = Number of first team goals scored
  • YC = Yellow Cards
  • RC = Red Cards
  • US = Unused Subs

1997-8 Football Conference table

P W D L F A GD Pts
Halifax Town
2Cheltenham Town422391063432078
3Woking422281272462674
4Rushden & Diamonds422351479572274
5Morecambe4221101177641373
6Hereford United421813115649767
7Hednesford Town421812125950966
8Slough Town421810145849964
9Northwich Victoria421515126359-460
10Welling United42179166462260
11Yeovil Town421781773631059
12Hayes4216101662521058
13Dover Athletic421510176070-1055
14Kettering Town421313165360-752
15Stevenage Borough421312175963-451
16Southport421311185658-250
17Kidderminster Harriers421114175663-747
18Farnborough42128225670-1444
19Leek Town421014185267-1544
20Telford United421012205376-2342
21Gateshead42811235187-3635
22Stalybridge Celtic4278274893-4529

Adverts